Additional Training after Pharmacy School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Emory25

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel that I could be more effective as a clinical pharmacist if I were to attend PA school after finishing my pharmacy education. I have no desire to become a physician, however, I feel that a medical education (albeit PA school) could only enhance my knowledge of medicine while practicing as both a pharmacist and physician assistant.

Some of my classmates believe it's a waste of time and I am, sometimes, reluctant to share my career goals with them. I would like to know what others out there think. :)

Members don't see this ad.

You know what life is a choice and choices we make, open us the path of success. That choice you make can make you successful and you should believe in it. I'm also doing a master degree after I graduate from Pharmacy. I will be doing a Master of Science in clinical research because I want to get into clinical research.

I feel that I could be more effective as a clinical pharmacist if I were to attend PA school after finishing my pharmacy education. I have no desire to become a physician, however, I feel that a medical education (albeit PA school) could only enhance my knowledge of medicine while practicing as both a pharmacist and physician assistant.

Some of my classmates believe it's a waste of time and I am, sometimes, reluctant to share my career goals with them. I would like to know what others out there think. :)

I think you should finish pharmacy school first and if you still think you can handle more school you should go for it. I don't think you should let others discourage you.

Members don't see this ad :)