Advice - Engineer to Pharmacist with low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flyingdiver

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I’ve been reading this forum for quite some time as I have been considering a career change to Pharmacy. I’m hoping to get some advice on my situation.

As mentioned, I’m considering Pharmacy as a new career. I graduated with my BS in Computer Science in 2001 with a GPA of 2.23 and since then I have had a very successful career as a software engineer in the defense industry. This year I just graduated with my MS in Computer Science from a top tier engineering school with a GPA of 3.78. I have determined that engineering is not what I want to do for the rest of my life and have always wanted to be a Pharmacist.

Obviously all of the required Pre-Pharmacy coursework is not part of any Computer Science curriculum so I’m in the process of enrolling at a local college for the courses I would need (Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy & Physiology, etc…). I have taken all of the required Math, Physics, Statistics, and General Education courses typically required for Pharmacy School admission however.

I’m just wondering how big of a problem my undergraduate GPA is going to give me. I got mostly As and Bs in the Pre-Pharmacy courses but did badly in a lot of the upper-level engineering classes that have no relation to the study of Pharmacy at all. Will an admissions committee trash my application for getting Fs and repeating courses such as Differential Equations, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Architecture, etc…? It just seems really unfair that some 400 level upper-level Engineering Math courses that I did horrible in will factor into my Math GPA even though they are not at all required for Admission to a Pharmacy School.