Advice for a DO interested in Ortho

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pochi111

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently an OMSIII graduating in 2019 who is interested in Ortho. I'm kinda confused about the merger and after searching these forms I figured I would just post my situation.

I believe that I am a fairly competitive student. I am in the top 15% of the class, been part of clubs, received scholarships, dean list x2, did research in undergrad but my board scores were 685 and 226 for COMLEX and USMLE, respectively. I know that my COMLEX score is relatively competitive for Ortho but my USMLE is average, at best. My question is, going into the 2019 match, is having a low USMLE score going to hurt me for AOA or post-AOA, now ACGME programs or will my COMLEX score be sufficient? Should I even bother taking Step 2? At this point, I am only focusing on applying to AOA or post-AOA residencies. Obviously I understand the importance of audition rotations, strong letters of rec, etc.

Am I understanding my situation correctly or am I totally off the mark with the merger and everything?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently an OMSIII graduating in 2019 who is interested in Ortho. I'm kinda confused about the merger and after searching these forms I figured I would just post my situation.