commitedtoit

10+ Year Member
Feb 26, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi!
I was hoping to get an opinion concerning my situation. I'm currently doing my bachelors in biology with a 3.7 gpa and two more semesters left. I was previously in a computer eng program and failed really really miserably over the course of a few years before I finally decided to stop hitting myself with that hammer and switch into something I enjoyed. This has left me with an overall cumulative gpa of something like a 2.3 :confused: (Yeah, I really really screwed that engineering part up). Ive done a volunteer medical internship overseas, some volunteer work at home, and have some good references as well as an MCAT of 30. So the way I see it, I have three options....

1. Apply and try and get in with these stats
2. Continue taking undergrad courses even when I'm done to raise my GPA slowly.
3. Try and do a masters and then apply.

What do you suggest and do you think I have a shot if I go with 1 at SMU or MUA?

Thanks for any input you might have :)

SabaMed

10+ Year Member
Sep 9, 2006
Status (Visible)
Hi!
I was hoping to get an opinion concerning my situation. I'm currently doing my bachelors in biology with a 3.7 gpa and two more semesters left. I was previously in a computer eng program and failed really really miserably over the course of a few years before I finally decided to stop hitting myself with that hammer and switch into something I enjoyed. This has left me with an overall cumulative gpa of something like a 2.3 :confused: (Yeah, I really really screwed that engineering part up). Ive done a volunteer medical internship overseas, some volunteer work at home, and have some good references as well as an MCAT of 30. So the way I see it, I have three options....

1. Apply and try and get in with these stats
2. Continue taking undergrad courses even when I'm done to raise my GPA slowly.
3. Try and do a masters and then apply.