Advice for DIY Post-Bacc Pathway (and reinvention in general)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

that_sad_fish

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, please bear with me, I feel like I'm in an odd spot (?), I tend to be long-winded, and I'm fairly new to SDN.

I'm currently 21 (ORM, 1st gen), finishing my undergrad this December with B.S. in Psychology (emphasis in Neuroscience), along with completing most pre-Med coursework. I'm currently sitting at a 3.25 cGPA, 3.40 AMCAS sGPA, and 3.41 AACOMAS sGPA, with a straight/slightly downward trend. Most of my semesters were ok (As > Bs), with the exception of 1 bad semester (2 Cs, 2 Ds) and 1 complete withdrawal semester.

I've had a personally rocky few years in college, that I've, in all honesty, completely wasted. I had some minor health issues and subsequent mental health/social decline that I ignored/didn't take care of properly, paired with some typical burnout and laziness. In addition to my inconsistent grades, I have little to no shadowing hours, no volunteering, clubs, research. I also had sort of a poor/non-existent support and guidance system within my family/friends/peers/advisors; I always had a sense of inferiority among other pre-meds (been surrounded by overachievers or gifted procrastinators), especially with my inability to gain momentum with any ECs. This slew of factors led to me constantly be in this limbo between hopefulness and hopelessness of being a viable pre-med student, and ultimately got me nowhere. I understand that much of this is my fault, but what's happened has happened, and moving forward I am completely ready to dedicate all of my time to becoming involved in meaningful clinical, volunteering, or research experiences, along with improving my GPA.