Advice for Improving Application (Current Sophomore/Low GPA/Good Experience)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

derka

Reaction score
Hello! I am currently a sophomore majoring in Neuroscience on the pre-vet track.

By the end of my current term (which ends in two weeks) I will have a 3.07 GPA. I struggled my freshman year as I had to make lots of adjustments to my study habits from high school, but my GPA has definitely been improving. The term I am currently in would be the start of my "last 45" and I would be starting off with a 3.56 (not bad, not excellent). By the time vet school applications roll around (senior fall) I could plausibly bring my overall GPA up to around a 3.44.

I was considering overloading with my coursework (English, History, etc.) during a term or two just to boost my overall GPA. Although these types of classes wouldn't help my science GPA, it would be nice to not have to worry as much about missing GPA cut-offs from some schools by the time I apply. I'd also be willing to take some classes over the summer as a GPA boost (as I am planning on doing with Organic Chemistry 1&2).

I'll list some extracurriculars/other experience I have below, although I'm not sure on hours (I'd have to look through calendars/etc.).

Veterinary Experience:
  • Equine Clinic Externship
  • ER Department Shadowing
  • Neurology Department Shadowing
Animal Experience:
  • Shark Research Internship (lots of hands-on experience)
  • Wildlife Rescue Volunteer
  • Spay/Neuter Clinic Volunteer
  • Animal Research Lab Volunteer
Research Experience:
  • Cognitive Psychology Lab
Other Medical Experience:
  • EMT Certification/Volunteer EMT
  • Shadowing in the ER (Human Medicine)
Languages:
  • English
  • ASL (American Sign Language)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Arabic
  • Hieroglyphs (if they count lol)
Extracurriculars/Other:
  • Founder and President of my college's Neuroscience Club