Advice for incoming MS1's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kundun

10+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am very excited about starting med school this fall. However, I also feel a bit nervous and apprehensive. Are there any med students out there that could offer advice on how to make a smooth transition into your first year? In addition, how did you adjust to the drastic increase in coursework? I am a capable student. However, I feel that med school can make even the most competant student feel overwhelmed at times.

Members don't see this ad.

Disicipline is the key word for me. You really need to withdraw from many activities and concentrate on your study. Be very selective to any social events. I am not saying you stop from going to movies or eat out. However. you have to select what you can and can not do because of time.

I am married, so every friday I will go out with my wife either a movie or restaurant, but not both.

Second, you need to find a way you can fit your study habit. I like to get into group study. It is not for everyone but if you like it, it will benefit you only , if your group focus on studying. If the group get together and chat too much, quit it.

Go to anatomy lab often and really look at every cadavor body. Your lab test will tag on all or most of the body. Make sure you read the material that were taught during the day. Craming before exam is almost impossible especially for anatomy, micro and physio.

The very first semester is the hardest to get through because you need to adapt a new life style. The second semester is better. because once anatomy is out of the way, you have more time for the lecture staff.