Advice for non clinical MPH

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

panderso

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm getting ready to apply for an MPH but need some advice. I did my undergrad in political science and I have a couple of years of work experience in that field (consumer advocacy/legal but I am sure as hell not going to law school in this climate). I also have some work experience in clerical/admin in a clinic.

Considering my background, I think I would be best off using my MPH for project management. I don't think I have a strong enough science background for epi or biostats, and I'm concerned there aren't enough lucrative jobs in global health/community health. Policy would be cool it looks like jobs are only in D.C. or a state capital. Based on my research project management looks like the most widespread career available. It looks like the job track is project assist. --> project coordinator --> project manager ---> management/administration.

However I'm not sure which MPH focus is most practical for this. Management/policy would be great and lists higher salary stats but I'm concerned I don't have enough relevant job experience to make it useful. Would I be better off with a generalist MPH? Health promotion? Or maybe I can transfer into epi after I've taken some science classes? Whichever MPH I get, I plan to pair it with a project management certification. Has anyone done that?

The second issue is working while enrolled in a program. I'm keenly aware of the opportunity costs of school and I know job opps for someone with just an MPH are not necessarily fantastic ... I want to keep my $40k/year day job if at all possible. I'm in San Diego so my first choice is SDSU - - I have heard several MPH grads say they did it while working and it was fine. Has anyone else done this? If that fails, does anyone had experience with partial online programs?