Advice---is 19 too young?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kimber

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would like a bit of advice concerning my situation. I am applying to only D.O. schools this fall, and I have an interesting situation. I am only 19 (which really should not matter), will have finished by B.S. in a total of two years after graduating High School (I graduated in May of 98). In May of 2000, I will graduate with a B.S. in Biology, minor in chemistry, gpa 4.00 all around, but have waited to take the August MCAT due to wanting to take my summer classes (physiology, physics II, and a Forensics class) for preparation. I volunteer at a free family clinic, volunteer at a hospital and blood bank, plus have research experience from working in a USDA-genetics lab and at an EPA research lab this summer. I have plenty of other activities like Habitat for Humanity that I am involved in, so I think I have all areas covered except for the MCAT. I have been studying for it and feel ready. I have the letters of rec. covered, so I am just curious as to what else I can do. Note: Due to taking the MCAT so late, I am only applying to D.O. schools I am seriously considering. So, basically what I am saying is, will my age even matter?

Members don't see this ad.

Oh Please. Do you have to ask? To top it off you'll probably score a perfect MCAT. Stop studying so much and live life a little, you're young...do some traveling etc.. Don't rush it, drink a beer or something.

Funkyrob,
Kimber's too young to drink a beer.

Kimber,