MD & DO Advice needed: Living alone vs with roommates first year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zombiegirl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I’d love your advice on living situations for first year. I have two options and I’m really struggling to decide between them. I found a beautiful house shared with 4 other med students (all M3s) looking for another roommate. Rent is about $600 but id have to share a bathroom. It’s walking distance to campus. My other option is to get an apartment by myself for about $1,300 that is 8-10 minutes drive from campus. I’m a non traditional student and lived on my own for the past 5 years but I’d love to make friends with people more my age (pretty much M3s), although I have no idea if these people are all that friendly as I’ve never met them before. What would you do in this situation?

Members don't see this ad.

Share.

Reactions: 1 users
Live alone.

The MS3s will likely be too busy to hangout with you and they'll have their clique already, then they'll be gone for aways shortly after. Also 600$ with 5 roomates sounds like you're getting worked. Also, sharing a bathroom is almost a deal breaker alone. People are disgusting. You'll make plenty of friends in MS1 and you'll want your own space to decompress.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I would share. It less than halves your rent cost and no drive to campus!

Live alone.

The MS3s will likely be too busy to hangout with you and they'll have their clique already, then they'll be gone for aways shortly after. Also 600$ with 5 roomates sounds like you're getting worked. Also, sharing a bathroom is almost a deal breaker alone. People are disgusting. You'll make plenty of friends in MS1 and you'll want your own space to decompress.