Advice needed on where to go after dismissal

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NVdalgal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I desperately need some help, advice, insights, or guidance offered in any form. First, let me explain a little about my situation. I am a 3rd year veterinary student that recently finished my Fall semester. I received a failing grade in Small Animal Medicine and will not be allowed to continue with my current class. Unfortunately, this is not my first time failing a course. I originally began with the Class of 2016 but after a rough adjustment to my new area and personal matters in play I did not pass the first semester. I was offered the opportunity to rejoin with the Class of 2017. I have passed all courses up until Small Animal Medicine in the third year. I was dismissed from my program and allowed to appeal to a committee of faculty. They had access to my course records and past academic history. In the meeting they had several "things for me to think about". I will start by saying that I have never been the best student. I have terrible test anxiety and passing exams has always been a struggle for me. The committee proposed for me to consider if my talents would be better appreciated elsewhere in a place/job/position where I could exceed. I interpreted the message as them saying "we aren't sure you are cut out for this." I have been working toward my goal of becoming a veterinarian since I was 17 (I am now 28). I have already put in 4 years of schooling and now have around $150,000 of student debt. I will most likely have the option of beginning again with another class (2018), but I don't know if that is the right choice for me at this point. It would mean pouring more money, an additional 3 years of time, and the possibility of not "exceeding" and again ending up in the position I have been twice before. I don't see myself being a clinical veterinarian for my entire care