Advice needed....

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by WhereMyLiberalsAt, May 15, 2018.

1. WhereMyLiberalsAt

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I’m looking for some sound advice on how to approach this next cycle/year. I have came up short of my 3.0 gpa goal and I’m trying to figure out where to focus my energy.

I’m arguably finished with my BS in biology (need to finish calc & stats). This degree has been a struggle (just shy of 200 credits). I graduated high school back in 2007 and did remedial classes part-time for some time. I went through some relatively difficult trials when I started my prerequisites and bombed a year of classes (2012-2013). I then took a year off and started fall of 2014 towards a reinvention.

The “OK” (2008-2012)

Remedial classes + Economics/Finance classes

The “bad” (2012-2013)

Gen chem = F x 2

Gen bio = F x 2

Couple other random classes = F

Year Break

Following classes not in order... Just showing significant classes 2014-Present (the good AND the bad)

Gen chem 1 w/lab: A

Gen chem 2 w/lab: A

O-chem 1 w/lab: A

O-chem 2 w/lab: A

Physics 1 w/lab: B-

Physics 2 w/lab: B+

Gen bio 1 w/lab: A

Gen bio 2 w/lab: A

Bio-chem w/lab: A

Endocrinology: A-

Virology: B+

Cell bio: A-

Communicable disease: B+

Neurobiology: A

Microbiology w/lab: A

Genetics w/lab: A

Evo bio: C

Cell culture (lab intensive): A-

Nutrition & Med: A

Molecular bio (lab intensive): A

Advanced physiology w/lab: B+ (5 credits)

Rural Health scholars: A x 2

Readings for rural medicine: A

300+ level classes in the humanities: A x 9

cGPA: 2.995, sGPA AMCAS: 2.97, sGPA AACOMAS: 2.98

Last 120 credits cGPA: 3.68, sGPA: 3.64

MCAT: 503 127/124/126/126

Last two semesters were 33 credits with 400+ level classes.