Advice needed!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FuturePath

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a new poster here but I have pretty much read every post in the pathology forum over the last year. I'm pretty much set on going into pathology and plan on applying broadly to both university and community programs throughout the country. So, here's my situation: I studied cell bio in undergrad at a good school. I'm from a Caribbean school (Ross U, a better known one, but still Caribbean). I have almost a 4.0 GPA, going into my last 3 months of rotations, applying for the '08 match. I got 254 on Step 1 and 254 on Step 2CK (weird right, the same exact score). I think I will have good LORs, 2 from pathologists from 2 rotations at community hospitals. I do fairly well at interviews. I'm a caucasian male, american born (not that it should matter, but some would say its a pro and some a con). Clearly I have strengths and weaknesses in my application. I was talking to a colleague of mine who matched last year and he told me my problem would not be getting interviews or matching somewhere, but the choice of accepting a prematch offer or rolling the dice and staying in the match. As an FMG, one of the (few) benefits is the ability to accept a prematch offer and withdraw from the match. But, I have my heart set on a west-coast university program, and if a decent program in the midwest or east coast offers me a prematch contract during my interview, what do I do? I'm not really hung up on going to a "top" program, as I understand that "top" is a totally subjective thing; rather, being out west (CA, OR or WA) is more of a lifestyle issue for my wife and I. Basically, my question is: Where do I fit in? What is the best program that I can hope for, being an FMG with good numbers? Should I be happy to take what I can get, or push for the dream position? Apparently, most offers must be ac