Advice...oh boy.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Macb85

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im in my final year of Chiropractic School i have a 3.2 and am considering the options of an NP degree or a DO degree in addition to the DC. I need advice on the prospects of the NP vs DO degrees. if i choose the DO route I'll take the MCAT in august. Im looking at LECOM bc its close to home and i like the ISP route (is that available at the Lake Erie Campus?) I like Chiropractic and truly believe its a great Healthcare profession but id honestly rather not get into why i want to go another route...That being said what should i shoot for in an MCAT score...Anyone with any insight on the ISP route? ..if i get $$ through the military would i do my residency through the military?...With the ISP route would i still be able to work in my own practice? Im not here to stir the pot on ideologies...just seeking advice from those in the know...thanks

p.s. A buddy of mine has a father who is a DO i've done a lot of shadowing; and i'd like to note that us DC's and DO's are more alike than different (other than the obvious). On reading up on Osteopathy and this message board over the last year I've learned that you guys worry about a lot of the same stuff we do; insurance reimbursement, personal practice philosophies, etc...surreal. flame away...

-matt

Members don't see this ad.

i just wanted to clear one more thing up...

I don't want to do this bc i want to be a "real" doc or anything like that ...

I am of the personal philosophy that you are what you make of yourself. you can me an MD and be a fool or a DO and be a fool or a DC and be a fool. or vis versa.