Advice on anesthesia as a career option

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr dr

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone:

I must admit that by far this is the best professional forum I have encoutered. Thanx to all the gurus and experts to share their experience and providing valuable advice to some of us who are thinking about Anesthesia as a career option.

I am a 3rd year medical student and I got 225 on my step1......I was wondering someone could tell me if this is a good score to get into some competitive academic programs such Northwestern, University of Chicago or University of Illinois, or Cleaveland clinic etc to name a few. Is it gonna buy me advantage to take step 2 before I apply for residencies?? Any other factors someone can mention that will make my application even more competitive. Thanks for reading this post.

Members don't see this ad.

dr dr said:
Hello Everyone:

I must admit that by far this is the best professional forum I have encoutered. Thanx to all the gurus and experts to share their experience and providing valuable advice to some of us who are thinking about Anesthesia as a career option.

I am a 3rd year medical student and I got 225 on my step1......I was wondering someone could tell me if this is a good score to get into some competitive academic programs such Northwestern, University of Chicago or University of Illinois, or Cleaveland clinic etc to name a few. Is it gonna buy me advantage to take step 2 before I apply for residencies?? Any other factors someone can mention that will make my application even more competitive. Thanks for reading this post.