Advice on Applying to Post-Bacc: Do I have Any Chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scards7049team

Reaction score
Hi, everyone! First off, thanks to anyone who takes the time to respond to this. I am grateful for your consideration in these trying times.

I am a recent college grad. I graduated from an Ivy League school ~6 months ago with a degree in applied math and economics. I have a 3.92 GPA (cumulative). I am currently slated to start full-time in a consulting firm in January, but over the past six months have deeply shifted my focus to changing careers to medicine. I considered medicine out of high school, and I have lived with a chronic illness for 12 years, so I have a personal connection to healthcare. I've volunteered in hospital settings, interned for health tech startups, and mentored kids with chronic illnesses.

I am thinking of applying to career-changer post-baccs in a year. My only doubts:
  • I went to a school with a very liberal pass/fail policy, and in the spirit of liberal education, I ended up taking one class pass/fail each semester. Will this negatively impact me? Will I not get into any competitive post-bacc as a result (e.g., Bryn Mawr, Goucher, Penn, etc.)? The only reassurance is that the rest of my grades were great and I snagged a 3.92.
  • I have yet to accumulate enough volunteer experience. So should I wait to do that first and then apply?
Any thoughts on this are greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.