Advice On Bad Grades In Pre-Med Classes/Transferring Colleges

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiretobe16

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I've scrolled through this forum for awhile now and finally decided to make a post because I need some advice. I'm a pre-med student who unfortunately received 2 bad grades in my science classes this semester. A D+ in the first half of college biology, a D in general chemistry, and a C- in my chemistry lab. My other grades were an A in Calculus and two B+'s in Humanities classes. I am not happy at my current school and would like to transfer, however I am torn.

My current institution does not offer these classes next semester, meaning I would have to wait until summer to take them at a community college. I have put serious thought into going to community college this upcoming semester, but I am not sure how it would affect my transfer chances. I am applying to 2 competitive state schools for transfer in fall of 2017.

I know I'll get a spot to say why I did bad in these classes and I can put that I decided to transfer to a CC to be able to take these classes and keep my intended major and pre-med track alive, however, I'm not sure how it will look to these colleges that I left half way through the year? If I went to a community college now, I could take both parts of college bio and chem (throughout next semester and the summer) and be able to start an organic chemistry sequence in the fall at a 4-year institution (which is my goal), but I'm not sure if I'll be able to get in. I have strong essays, letters of rec, and a good resume. I'm in 4 clubs, hold a leadership position, a lab assistant spot, and numerous volunteering hours.