Advice on how to proceed with education

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pastaguy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm in a bit of difficult spot right now in deciding how to proceed with my education, and what path to take. I graduated with a BA in Psychology from Hofstra University in May, with the intention to pursue a PhD in Clinical Psychology. I decided to not apply for the following season (my mistake) because it was suggested to me by professors and doctorate students alike that I get an RA or psychology-related position in the interim between my studies to bolster my application. I had a decent GPA (3.67 or so) with some small research experiences through an honors thesis I defended with honors and a class project that I took to a conference. The honors thesis was not published.

I was not able to locate a research position, and I am now juggling a general job search with university applications and studying to retake the GRE to improve my scores.

I am applying to both PhD and Masters programs, though I'm not sure I could get into a doctorate program without a research assistant-ship on my resume. For Masters programs I am mostly concerned that I will repeat a lot of coursework and that it will be just an added expense on my bank account that augments the cost of my education terribly in addition to a PhD program. The idea of expenses piled on top of each other has even made me think of stopping at a Masters.

I could use any input/advice. Have any of you been in this situation, or knows someone who has? What would you do? Would you stop at just a Masters? Would you go for an independent Masters and then a PhD? Or would you just hope to be accepted to a PhD program straight away?

Thanks for your attention!

Pastaguy

Members don't see this ad.