Advice on my situation please? SMP plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anastomosis

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Before everyone points toward the search function, I have to clarify that I have been a long time member of SDN under another name and I have used the search function consistently. I have chosen to make a new account for other reasons.

I need advice regarding my specific situation. If anyone can contribute anything, I will be grateful.

I am a student at a University of California school. I had horrific freshman year grades for a number of reasons, but I will not spare myself with excuses. While attempting my prerequisites, I managed to pass my first quarter of gen chem with a C-. Then the next quarter I received an F in the next gen chem sequence. In my third quarter, I retook that chem sequence and received a D. At my university, you are only allowed to retake a class once. You can petition to retake the class for a second time, but petitions rarely pass. So that means I am out of luck for completing the chemistry pre-requisite, and the organic chemistry pre-requisite which requires the completion of general chem. Also, at my university you are unable to start the biology sequence until you have finished chemistry. Therefore, the only pre-requisite I can finish at my university is physics.

My current plan is to switch my major to psychology (which I have already taken some classes for) and to finish a degree in psychology. At the same time, during the summers, I will complete gen chem, o-chem, and biology at a community college in order to fulfill my pre-requisites. I will finish physics at my university.

Then, after taking my MCAT, I will apply to a SMP.