Advice on Pre-Med Path please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fourpsych

Reaction score
I'm a 24yo single guy who is heavily looking at a career shift to medicine. Growing up I always marveled at the career, but due to some personal issues, I struggled with finding the confidence to believe I could do it. I entered a nursing program out of high school and by the halfway point I had participated in two internships that led me to the mental health specialty. My perceived ability to help others and feel empowered while doing so made this the perfect fit and before I could stop to really assess my schooling, I was enrolled in a direct-entry Psychiatric-MH NP program through the same college. I worked as an RN for the last 3 years of the program and my graduation is approaching this May. My previous PMHNP preceptor shared her frustration with certain practice limitations, and another one of my three clinical preceptors was a Pharmacist turned MD. His wisdom, knowledge, and encouragement opened my eyes to the possibility for me to follow in similar footsteps and we maintain contact presently. While I am pleased I did the program from the standpoint I found a true passion for academia and helping others - I'm already feeling regret over not pursuing medical school. I also recognize that I'll have my PMHNP in a few short months. I've studied hard and done well in my program, but it never challenged me in a way that felt fulfilling.

Nursing (BSN) w/ Medical Sociology Minor: 3.77 (3.1 science.. was still a bit of a goof my 1st yr. of nursing). Happy to have chosen the minor too.
PMHNP (MSN): 3.96
Work experience: RN for three years, charge for the last year.
Volunteer: Hurricane restoration in Puerto Rico, city mission.