Advice on summer plans, please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smilesoup

Tufts V15
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a sophomore who recently got accepted to two summer programs. One is with a faculty member at my school researching mouse models of schizophrenia (so cool!!) - it provides housing, a great stipend, and a chance to make some valuable connections. The other is at a large wildlife clinic that, while not paid, would give me some amazing experience treating and diagnosing animals while gaining veterinary experience (interns form the majority of the workforce there).

I would honestly pick the research position over the clinical one because of the stipend it provides - the latter would require me to pay a couple of hundred dollars for housing over the time the program spans. However, I currently don't have any clinical exposure to animals and am in sore need of vet experience.. I need to decide by Friday and am having so much trouble, because I'd love to do both! I hear research experience is valuable for applications, as well, and it would give me animal experience (due to the mice we will be working with). I plan to apply to vet school as a traditional student, and I'm kind of worried about how much time I have left to build up my resume. Any advice? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Research position hands down.

Members don't see this ad :)
Since you are a sophomore, you still have a whole year or more after this summer experience to gain extra veterinary (clinical, if need be) experience. Schools LOVE seeing applicants involved with research! Also, several people on these boards have brought portfolios of their research with them to their interviews.

Your enthusiasm for the research program says it all, and it will surely come out in your application as well. Go for it and good luck!