Advice on various concerns, please and thanks!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ebbo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For a bit of background:
As an undergrad I took two semesters each of General Chemistry and Biology, got a scattering of A's and B's, and while taking the first semester of Bio I also took Orgo I and got a C. After that I continued with Bio II but otherwise dropped the entire pre-med track, graduating with a 3.07 science GPA and 3.44 overall GPA.
After 3.5 years in the Army, I'm back for revenge and currently taking Orgo I and Physics I to ease back into academics, doing well (I think). I'm arranging my fall semester schedule and suddenly having a lot of concerns:

1) GPA: neither science nor overall GPA are great, so I am working to make 12+ credits sciences per semester for the next two semesters, like so:

Upcoming fall: Orgo II, Physics II, ? (<-- any advice on what to take here?)
Next spring: Biochem I, genetics, cell bio

This is where I'd ideally end my pre-reqs due to financial constraints, but I worry that these won't boost my science GPA enough to make me competitive. From reading various threads, it seems that it's more important to show that I can handle a course load like the above while doing the EC's (and "kill the MCATs"), but at the end of the day it's a numbers game. Do I have to inflate my GPA with more upper-level sciences?

2) I couldn't help but feel anxious when my pre-health advisor told me that most med schools prefer pre-reqs to be less than 5 years old (mine are 8+). I've looked at the non-traditional threads regarding old pre-reqs, but I'd really appreciate a realistic idea of how much this might hurt me when compared to the traditional applicant.
*my calculus class is actually AP calc credit from my ancient HS days, and it's gonna be 10+ years old by the time I apply. Should I retake this?...