Nov 29, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi Everyone!

I am a 26 year old Pakistani female nontraditional student, applying this a upcoming 2015 cycle. My family was never quite well off, I had to work really hard to support myself and at times my family. I have lived in California most of my life, attended a community college, transferred to UC and then worked. A lot. I graduated from university three years ago. I am a little different. Here are my experiences, I'd love to hear peoples' opinions!

SCHOOL/ACADEMICS
1) I attended community college in Riverside, CA, for three years. During this time I completed all of my premed prerequisites and general ed. My GPA was a 3.4 upon leaving CC in Summer of 2008
2) I applied to five UCs, I chose to attend UC Berkeley. At Cal I majored in Molecular and Cellular Biology, emphasizing in Neurobiology, while also majoring in English with an emphasis in Old/Middle English. Upon graduation (Fall 2010) in my GPA was about 3.3

**So 5.5 years of CC and UC, overall cumulative GPA 3.35, Science GPA about 3.0, two majors.

WORK EXPERIENCE
I've held 1-2 jobs while attending high school/college and doing either voluntary research or volunteering at a hospital. Here's where I've worked in somewhat of a chronological order:

1) Casual Italian restaurant, serving (1 year)
2) Country club, serving weddings (1.5 years)
3) Theory (yes the clothing company, it was sweet), sales associate (3 years)

Post Degree
4) Another Italian restaurant, bartending (2.5 years)
5) And another Italian restaurant, serving (1.5 years)
6) A non-profit for adults with disabilities, teacher. Easily the most rewarding work I've ever taken part in. I volunteered here for an entire year and then was employed for 3 years.