Advice Request

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

powersellingmom

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
(After rereading this I've realized that I haven't made adequately clear anywhere that I am an undergraduate hoping to one day get into an MD/PhD program, so I'm putting it here.)

I've had a rough year, with the fault resting on nobody's shoulders but my own. I need to make a decision now though on the direction I head, and I'm hoping you can help. Here's where I'm at:

Cumulative GPA at end of year 2 - 3.92
Year 2/3 summer GPA - 3.83
Year 3 fall GPA - 3.43
Year 3 winter -
Between December and late February I went through what I have to imagine was genuine clinical depression. In consideration of your time and my own neurosis/fixation with hyper-anonymity I'll spare you the detailed pathos. When I snapped out of it (I don't believe this is the right way to put it but I'm at a loss here), I was failing all of my classes. I decided after going over the syllabuses again that two classes out of three were salvageable, one because the lowest exam is dropped at the end and the other because we had only completed about 25-30% of the class points. In the third one, however, I was doomed to no better than a C+ no matter how stellar of a job I did on the last exam and final, so I dropped it for a WP.