Advice: Should I Apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted984162

I am a pre-medical student in Florida. I have received acceptance into the MedStart program at the University of Toledo which ensures acceptance into the medical school in Fall 2020 as long as I don't apply to any other schools. HOWEVER, Toledo, Ohio is very far from where I have lived all of my life and is completely different from what I am used to.

Should I accept the early assurance program at University of Toledo and attend Toledo's medical program OR should I take a chance and apply to other schools? Applying to other schools could allow me to stay closer to home and closer to my friends and family, but it will involve a lot of applications, essays, and interview prep and it might mean that I might not be accepted into any school. Toledo is very far from Florida and it is much colder there so it would be a hard transition. Please advise on what I should do?

Also, is my MCAT score good enough to be accepted?

Please advice. What should I do?

My stats:
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Science GPA: 4.0
Overall GPA: 3.99
MCAT: 510
Medical Volunteering: Volunteer EMT, Hospital volunteering
Non-Medical Volunteering: Tutoring, Boys and Girls Club, Underprivileged primary schools
Leadership: Founded chapter of non-profit organization at my university, Officer in multiple organizations (Minority Association of Pre-health Students, Public Health Association, Indian Student Association, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Biomedical Engineering Society)
Research: Effects of Values in Cardiovascular Rehabilitation, Effect of Downstream Resistance in a CABG
Shadowing: ~100 hours in various activities (obtained a recommendation letter from a surgeon)

Members don't see this ad.

With those stats you would probably gain acceptance to a few schools in FL very easily