Advice switching back to anesthesiology from pain medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JD786

Reaction score
Hello. I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice on switching back to anesthesia from pain medicine. I graduated from fellowship last year and have been practicing 100% pain for almost 2 years. I was thinking of switching back but really nervous about making the switch and I feel stuck. I am board certified but feel that my anesthesia skills have severely diminished. I was thinking of asking new jobs to see if any anesthesiologists were willing to shadow me until I get back into things; however, I feel that it would raise red flags. Any advice can help. Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Made the switch years ago, also after a couple years of 100 percent pain. Best decision I ever made. Never looked back. Like riding a bike- put in ‘easy’ rooms for a couple weeks, then full force shortly thereafter. Find a job that will make a small accommodation for you in order to help with your transition, like being proctored for a bit, or shadowing, etc. Shouldn’t be too hard to find as the market is wide open.

Reactions: 1 users
Made the switch years ago, also after a couple years of 100 percent pain. Best decision I ever made. Never looked back. Like riding a bike- put in ‘easy’ rooms for a couple weeks, then full force shortly thereafter. Find a job that will make a small accommodation for you in order to help with your transition, like being proctored for a bit, or shadowing, etc. Shouldn’t be too hard to find as the market is wide open.
Why was it the best decision of yojr life?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Why was it the best decision of yojr life?