Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

happyatethem

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would really appreciate it if someone could give me some ideas on what to do next. Here is me:

cgpa 3.16, sgpa 3.46 (based on amcas not aacomas) mcat 27 (10-7-10) and 503 (bio and psych were bad). I have military clinical experience, I can boost the cgpa to a 3.3 no problem. I can improve it at most to a 3.4. I work in a hospital on a rotating panama shift so the only "classes" I can take are online classes at a community college. I am desperate but I wonder if showing desperation is a good thing. Should I be taking these classes?

I also have one attempt at least left in me for the mcat. I just get the feeling I could use a little bit of time out of the army, settle home, and buckle down and maybe boost my numbers to a 506-7.

I am really confused about letters of recommendation. I have a lot, and I was hoping to apply this year but the mcat didn't go well so I am holding off. Do I need to get those letters again, does a letter of recommendation from last year expire or is no longer accepted? I was thinking I could upload everything to interfolio so I won't have to bother my professors and doctors again.

I want to be a doctor. I want to go back home to Chicago and preferably settle there.

Here are my questions:
1. Should I take community college classes (40-80 credits) to boost my gpa?
2. Is there an easy way to collect letters so I can resend them as I need over the next two years.
3. Is it worth applying to DO schools so late in the cycle?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, lets start with the easy question first.