Advices for Ivy with poor undergraduate record?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

piyota

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting in the forum, so please be patient with me if I make any mistakes.
My situation: I recently graduated from a top Ivy school with less than stellar GPA (3.1~3.2 in a science major). I did not take the MCAT yet so I did not apply to MD schools last cycle; I thought it would be wise to improve my stats before applying anyway. I just did not want to take a shot at med school, but wanted to apply when I'm prepared and ready. I understand that there are lots of debate about whether or not Ivy League students deserve to be admitted despite lower stats than others, and also the whole debacle with grade inflation in SDN. I went through a really tough time in college (I had to work to support myself, my parents went through a nasty divorce and custody battle during my senior year, my sister was diagnosed with autism...), but I knew that there's no excuse for my poor performance. I am supposed to work to support my family right now; but one of my relatives was kind enough to support me to prepare to apply instead of working. Therefore, I hope that SDN members would give me honest advice and opinion on how to improve my stats for the upcoming cycle. I knew for sure that GPA repair should be on the top of my list together with studying hard for the MCAT. I would really appreciate any insightful detailed advice, or personal stories from SDN members that had overcome these hurdles. Thank you and have a great day.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, this is my first time posting in the forum, so please be patient with me if I make any mistakes.