Advisors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

debsch

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone-

This is my first posting. I discovered this forum about a month ago and really look forward to reading the postings. They have helped answer alot of questions.

I am a non-traditional student and not in a formal post-bacc program (just taking 1-2 classes per semester as a non-degree candidate)si I don't have access to a pre-medical advisor. I have an unusual background and could use some personalized advice writing my essay and putting my applications together (i.e. what to emphasize, what weaknessess to address, etc...) Is anyone aware of legitimate advisors who provide counseling services for a fee?

Another question - should non-basic science courses (applied sciences and clinical science courses) be included in the science GPA for AMCAS? Examples - biomechanics (physics?), pathophysiology (biology?), clinical neuroanatomy (biology?), medical physics (physics?).

Thanks for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm pretty sure those course are "science" courses, so they should count. And about the advisors, I know there are some out there that charge fees to help you out in the application process, but don't know where or who. So can't help you much there.

First, a little about me: I am also a non-traditional student, I started with a physics class at night while I was working full time as a high school teacher. After two years of "fighting the good fight," I took the MCAT and am starting at my first choice school this August.

Now, my question for you.