Advocate Secondary Prompt, which to choose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dogssaywoof

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN! I am prewriting my secondary questions and I am having trouble with the prompt:
Describe a situation where you chose to advocate for someone who is different from yourself. What does advocacy mean to you and how has your advocacy developed? How do you see it linked to your role as a physician/leader? What risks, if any, might be associated with your choice to be an advocate?

I am an EMT currently and was going to choose a patient that I have advocated for and I am wondering which sounds better. #1 Had an intoxicated pt. that the ER staff was going to restrain because she kept trying to get off the cot but I had to explain to the staff that she had PTSD from an assault and myself and a nurse calmed her down (obviously would explain more elegantly). #2 had a Vietnam veteran that had suffered a stroke and hated hospitals and would not go to the ER, had to work with the wife to call adult protective services to help them. (more about have to find resources to assist the patient outside of my normal duties). Any advice would be great thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure that those are really great examples. Keep in mind that the example need not be related the medical care. Keep in mind, too, that advocacy, as some of us define it, is about changing the system or advocating on behalf of groups of people to change a policy, get needed resources, achieve equity in allocation of resources, that sort of thing.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi SDN! I am prewriting my secondary questions and I am having trouble with the prompt: