Which lab should I choose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonymous0707

Reaction score
I am a rising sophomore trying to choose the lab I will stay in hopefully for the rest of undergrad. I have been given two choices, so any guidance would be appreciated.

The first lab is with a relatively well-known PI that works in engineering. The research that I will be working on is a product that filters wastewater, so it's not exactly medically related but still interesting nonetheless. I would have the opportunity to switch to other more medically related projects in this lab down the line. This PI also publishes quite a bit for a basic science lab, but the last time an undergraduate was published in this lab was six years ago (and I'm not sure whether or not that will be a possibility for me). I believe I am the first undergraduate in the lab during the school-year since then (there have been others in the summer REUs). From what I've seen, the maximum publications (if any) I'd get out of this lab without a gap year would be 2 before I apply, and that is if I'm lucky. The primary thing that makes me lean towards this lab is that I am in a program that will give me full funding for this lab for every summer (~$8000), and I would be free to continue in this lab as long as I wanted. My school offers a couple of grants that the project I'd be joining would be competitive for, so I could show signs of productivity that way if not publications. Also, I have read that basic science labs are much more respected than clinical.