Affordable Care Act Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sky778

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello so I have couple questions that I need clarification on the experts (and to be experts).

With the understanding of ACA, do people from states that don't implement ACA reform simply won't get any benefits from it?

And since ACA already expanded Medicaid coverage for the low income populations, why can't it expand in full force and cover everyone who cannot access (financially) healthcare insurance? Is it simply the money issue or is there anything I am missing?

I am still in the process of understanding the system and also the possible ways to resolve the current healthcare crisis (based on my current knowledge) so any input is welcomed and appreciated! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Sky,

I'm not a legal expert or anything but I did take a class on the ACA when it first came out. (My school was trying out a hybrid poly sci./ethics combo) In the class we read and discussed the text of the law as it stood then with affected experts.

Re: Question 1 - the way I understand the part of the law which relies on states participation is in reference to individual marketplaces and medicaid expansion. The citizens in the states that did not opt to expand medicaid coverage would in some cases not be eligible for as much support living in that state as compared to the coverage they may have if they live in a state that did expand medicaid. As a whole, I do not think an enormous number of people are in this situation as 32 states have expanded medicaid. The states that have not expanded are largely rural or southern states. (In case you were wondering, here is a map of the states that have/have not expanded http://familiesusa.org/product/50-state-look-medicaid-expansion )