all my eggs in one basket!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

epalacios

SCO Class of 2016
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm pretty stoked! Just got an email stating my application is verified and being sent off to my program. I am only applying to SCO (since I have family in Memphis, and would really appreciate the break in living expenses!)

I am in my early 30's with an undergraduate degree in Business, and completed all the required prerequisites recently. Total GPA 3.39, but my more recent optometry prerequisite coursework is much higher than my business undergrad coursework from ten years ago.

Sitting for the OAT October 1, and I hope I will be competitive enough to get an interview at SCO! I'm pretty sure that if I can get an interview, I can sell myself as a good candidate. I have about five years of optometry office experience as a licensed optician, and nine years of retail management experience.

Are there any other folks out there with a business management background besides me?

Members don't see this ad.

I was glad to read this, and ready for the responses. I'm a business major myself, and I'm planning on fulfilling the pre-req's versus getting a degree in bio/chem. I'm also going to be 30 when applying to op school (27 now), and plan on applying to SCO exclusively. Didn't add anything of value to the OP, but just wanted to say "I'm right there with ya!"

I have my BBA in finance and investments and I am starting my first year this month! I think it gives you an advantage as a well rounded candidate.

Good Luck!!:D

Members don't see this ad :)
I have my BBA in finance and investments and I am starting my first year this month! I think it gives you an advantage as a well rounded candidate.

Good Luck!!:D

How did your GPA/OAT look? Any advice on interviewing as a business guy vs being a science nerd? (no offense to the science nerds, of course!)