Allopathic schools that favor non-trads with strong post-bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nasem

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am trying to compile a list of 10 to 12 MD schools to apply to... ~ my instate schools will be MSUCHM, Wayne State, and Oakland (new for 2010 starting year)

Just to make myself clear, I am not applying this year, but waiting until June of 2009, this will be the first year I apply.

A little history about myself, I graduated in 2004 as a double major in Computer Science & Mathematics, overall GPA 3.01, science about 3.13-ish.
Been doing post-bacc since spring of 2007 while working a fulltime job, I have accumulated about 30 credits of post-bacc so far (straight 4.0), by time I apply next year, I'll have approx 45 credits of post-bacc with (estimated) post-bacc GPA of about 3.8-4.0
Unfortunately, no matter how well you do on your post-bacc, as you all know, it is VERY difficult to raise the undergrad GPA, even with those 45 credits; my overall will be 3.2-ish with a 3.4-ish science

I understand that all schools look for high achieving students with stellar GPAs / MCATs.... But have anyone heard (even a rumor) about specific schools that favor non-trads with strong post-bacc performances.... Of course I haven't taken the MCATS yet and won’t until July of 2009, but let’s just assume I'll end up with a score of 30

My plan is to apply to about 10-12 DO & 10-12 MD, I've already composed a list of DO schools, I just need a little help with MD schools

Members don't see this ad.

I am trying to compile a list of 10 to 12 MD schools to apply to... ~ my instate schools will be MSUCHM, Wayne State, and Oakland (new for 2010 starting year)

Just to make myself clear, I am not applying this year, but waiting until June of 2009, this will be the first year I apply.