Allopathic Vs. Osteopathic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EricCSU

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore in college right now, and as of one month ago, I'm a pre-med student too. I'm wondering what the pros and cons of going to an osteopathic school. I know both MD's and DO's are equally as respected, so that isn't an issue. Do the big name DO schools carry as much weight as a big name MD school? Is it easier/harder to get into DO school? Do people ever apply to both? I know MD's usually respect DO's, but what about the opposite? I know DO's work with the muscular system to relieve pain, but what does this mean exactly? Is it a form of medically-based massage? How often is it used? What do MD's think about it?

Thank you in advance for all of your answers. I can use all the information I can get, because all of this is so interesting to me. Have a great day!

Members don't see this ad.

I would recommend reading the book The Difference A D.O Makes by Bob Jones. It would take a long time for me to answer all of your questions appropiately but the book will do a good job. You should be able to find it at your local library or look for it on-line. Good luck!

I am just curious about this kind of title for a tread: why it is usually "MD vs DO" or "Allopathic vs Osteopathic" ????

I mean, "or" would be a much better middle word than "vs", what do you guys think?!

"vs" denotes some kind of rivarly, such as the "Yankees vs Cardinals" or " us vs them". "or" denotes two options, without implying any rivarly between them. That is the true face of allopathic and osteopathic medicine in the minds of everyone, exception made to pre-meds, it seems. There is no competion, there is no "we are better than them or, at least, we think we are".

Just a thought, folks...

Members don't see this ad :)
UHS2002--