Am I actually up for O-4?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JamesL

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 1 year out of my FM residency. Medical school was 4 years and residency was the standard 3 years including internship. I direct commissioned as an O-3 in 2019 in the ARNG. This weekend I received notification from my G1 that I was being considered for promotion to O-4. Since I have been drilling only for a few months, and I have not yet even been to DCC or BOLC this seems... premature to say the least. Is this even possible or is this an error somewhere? My company commander is encouraging me to go through the process but everyone else I've talked to seems a bit perplexed about the process. Anyone have a similar experience?

Members don't see this ad.

I would be surprised that you can promote without bolc as you aren’t aoc qualified yet

Reactions: 1 user
It looks are you are being considered for below the zone 04. I think military is giving a credit for 4 years of service.

Members don't see this ad :)
The fact that I, as a an O4, have no idea what a qualified O3 physician’s chances are of promotion due to the fact that they are in a different service and I have no idea what BOLC or AOC means shows exactly how non-HRO the DOD really is and how much we are wasting our time and resources on things that won’t benefit our warfighter or their family’s medical benefit.

The fact that I, as a an O4, have no idea what a qualified O3 physician’s chances are of promotion due to the fact that they are in a different service and I have no idea what BOLC or AOC means shows exactly how non-HRO the DOD really is and how much we are wasting our time and resources on things that won’t benefit our warfighter or their family’s medical benefit.