Am I burnt out or do I hate my job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neurotic_cow

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy folks! Happy Wednesday! Bear with me, word-vomit coming your way re: burnout v. senioritis v. I picked the wrong career path

As a psychologist, I feel like I should have a better handle on this topic but genuinely curious about how one tells the difference between burn out and just not liking my career. At this point, there's no turning back or changing careers at least for awhile, since I'm just finishing up with postdoc and I'm just now emerging from the hell that has been my life for the past 7 years of grad school, internship, and postdoc. For the past several months, I have just absolutely dreaded going to work, I can't seem to focus, and I struggle with being productive at work. Some days I literally just sit and stare at my computer for hours and don't actually get anything done. It feels like "groundhog day" a lot of the days and I feel like I'm doing the bare minimum to get by, which is a terrible feeling and I feel like I'm letting my patients down, though I'm still caring more for my patients than my supervisor does. I don't LOVE my job or what I do like I did in grad school when everything was exciting and interesting and I only had like 1 case a week to focus on. For reference, I have been doing around 6-8 neuropsych evals a week (with doing some of my own testing) for the past 2 years of postdoc, which is the highest workload I've ever had to handle on top of everything else that postdoc entails. I've also been trying to get myself to study for board certification and can't seem to get any motivation whatsoever to do that. I passed the EPPP a year ago and just have checked out completely but I find plenty of motivation doing basically anything else: cleaning, quilting, baking, hiking, etc. I have about 2 months of postdoc left.