Am I crazy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Momzy

Reaction score
Hi everybody!

I'm new here and this is my first post but I'm just gonna go ahead and crash right in. I don't suppose anybody needs any formal niceties, right?

Anyway, I'm a nontraditional student: 27, married mom of two three-year-olds, started college in 2009 and then my life exploded and I R.U.I.N.E.D. my GPA because of undiagnosed physical/mental health issues (that I now have under control). I managed to pull off what my school calls an Academic Fresh Start. Basically, all my F's and otherwise non-passing grades have been deleted as of last year so I have taken a few classes since then and done really well so far but my GPA is still 2.88 (should go up by August as I'm in summer classes but not by much).

I came back to school last year in summer as a Japanese major, had to sit out the fall semester due to financial aid issues, and paid my way through spring semester as a Japanese and Spanish double major with a minor in Linguistics. I decided to drop Spanish and Linguistics and add Biology with a concentration in Genetics and Biotechnology. I want to do an MSTP after graduating.

Right now, I have basically all of my gen ed requirements fulfilled but I have no science classes yet. My advisor tried to suggest that a bio major will make me graduate "late" and suggested I take bio/chem minors instead but those don't cover much at my school and I personally want to take all the classes in the bio major so I am pursuing that. She doesn't like that so much so she asked me to make a spreadsheet mapping out all my classes until graduation. So I did.

I took 18 hours this past spring (two levels simultaneously of Japanese, a Japanese culture class, intermediate Spanish, beginner German and linguistic anthropology) and I got 3 A's and 3 B's without ever needing to study because I'm a language nerd-sponge I guess?