Am I doing this wrong? Advice for an auto-didact

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AbuSina

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm currently between my 3rd and 4th years of undergrad, I'm mainly studying for the MCAT right now (5-6 hours a day). When I'm not, I sometimes enjoy reading this pathology textbook I found online that is for med students or I look up how to read chest x-rays online trying to stick to reliable sources. I skim through and read things here or there that look interesting, but I lately got to thinking why not be more systematic about it? Why not go through each chapter of the textbook in order and learn it just like I would for a class, i.e. self-teach?

Would this be detrimental to my future education in med school, sort of like coming in with a glass already full and therefore not suited to properly absorb information there? Is it a waste of time? Should I just study for the MCAT in the time it takes me to learn this stuff?

I'll mention again that I enjoy reading these things and I have no illusions that it's the best way to prepare for the MCAT. Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Its really a waste of time to pre study any medical school curriculum; especially when you're studying for the MCAT. If and when you do matriculate you will have the proper materials and professional instructors to learn the material correctly and in a much shorter time frame.

Last edited:
Reactions: 2 users
yeah don't put cart before horse just focus on MCAT

if you want to study things to prepare for medicine:

only undergrad course I regularly recommend are biochem, the full year, and statistics & probability
if you don't have to take them learn them anyway
learn Spanish (or another language if you have other specific goals in mind)
get a firm grip on humanities like psychology, sociology