am I on the right track?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrNiceGuy

Kickin' it new school
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am new to the forum but would like some input as to whether or not I'm headed in the right direction for an MD/PhD education (or MSTP). I am a junior (sort of) at a large public university and I am majoring in honors Biomedical Engineering with minors in Physiology and Neurobiology, and Material Science Engineering. I transferred my sophomore year from a small four year college with a 3.9 and when I got to my current university I had to basically enroll as a freshman in my major. Since I had so many credits from my first college I was able to pick up minors in two subject areas. I have been keeping my GPA above 3.8 for my entire career yet I feel that it will realistically drop as I have an additional 5 semesters of school to complete (with increasing difficulty). I wanted to know what my chances would be of getting into a top-tier MD/PhD program would be if I can keep my GPA in the 3.5-3.8 range. (3.5 would be the absolute lowest). I honestly have no clue how I am going to do on the MCAT as I have never even taken a practice test, but I am a good test taker and will be signing up for the test this summer.

Here are my extracurriculars so far:
-EMT-basic working 48-70 hours a week over the summer
-Medical technician at my universities health center 4 hours a week during school
-Officer in my universities premedical society, I plan on being vice president next year
-Research in a lab that studies predominately neurogenesis but essentially any facet of the brain. This is where my heart is and I plan on doing more and more research.

So what do you guys think? Any pointers or suggestions for an aspiring MD/PhD? I know you all are busy but any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,