Am I ready to apply for this cycle or should I wait?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

snooper92

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in a dilemma about whether to apply this cycle (for entrance in '09) or to delay applying until next spring. For anyone who could kindly give advice, I'd appreciate it.

I'm a nontraditional student. For the past 2 years, I've been doing the science prerequisite classes. My plan has been to apply to dental school sometime in May and take the DAT's in July.

I went to college and grad school, worked for 6 years, and decided to make a career change for various reasons.

Here is my dilemma: My overall GPA is a 3.18 (which got pulled down by low grad school grades in a non-science field), my science GPA is a 3.3 (I have a 4.0 average now with my science classes but I took science classes in college a very long time ago and did poorly in them. Unfortunately, those old grades are averaged with my current science grades). For the past 2 years, I have retaken the courses I took in college, which are the general science prerequisites + cell biology.

Would it be better to delay applying to dental school another year and take more science classes to boost the science GPA? Would taking more upper-level undergrad biology classes be sufficient? I've been told that schools are mostly concerned with grades received in prerequisites and that beyond that, the DAT is most important.

Do the schools look down on re-applicants?

I am wondering if 2 more semesters of high grades (which would bump the science average from a 3.3 to about a 3.45 or more) would be worth the wait, or if the difference is not significant enough to justify postponing. It's hard to tell...

Thanks for listening. Any advice or insight on this would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.