Am I wasting my time trying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dmv1992

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,I am a bio major and chem minor. I am in my 3rd year and looking to take the mcat this upcoming summer. I have started to study for mcat with my practice books and thinking about investing in a course for mcat in my area. My overall gpa is currently 3.3 an upward trend and my sgpa is 3.6. My number one choice would be LSU either in New Orleans or in Shreveport. I do not have any ec as of now. I planned to begin shadowing a pediatrician over the summer, possibly shadow a osteopathic doctor as well. Then volunteer in a local hospital during the school year. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time looking at my post :)

Members don't see this ad.

1. What makes you think you're wasting your time? First, becoming a great applicant doesn't happen over night; it's a long road. And a passion for helping others and medicine has to be cultivated over a period of time. Be patient and see if this is something you want to do. If nothing else, preparing for becoming a physician will change you for the better as a person even if you don't end up being a physician.

2. Are you unsure if you would like being a doctor or are you feeling discouraged?
If it's the first, you should take a hard look at what is motivating you with pursuing this path. If it's the latter, your numbers aren't beyond being accepted. In fact, you get a decent MCAT (read: 27+) you've got a chance anywhere. You do need to maintain your grades, but please know that there are plenty of applicants like you with less than stellar numbers getting into great DO schools every year.

My recommendation: