research stress

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scpm

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I recently started a summer research internship, I'm unbelievably lucky to be there and I'm genuinely interested in the project, but I have zero prior experience and I've been feeling super stressed out.

I have no idea what the "culture" of working in a lab is like and I can't figure out how people typically work/communicate - I feel like I'm being too apologetic, asking my mentor too many clarifying questions, and at the same time I've already made a couple really stupid mistakes and feel terrible about it. I don't want to be annoying and make it look like I can't even do simple tasks on my own, but I also don't want to make more careless mistakes but I also don't want to come off as overconfident or arrogant.

Does anyone have any advice about how to handle this stress or how to work/behave in a basic science lab?

Thank you!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi! I recently started a summer research internship at a top med school + hospital affiliated lab- I'm unbelievably lucky to be there and I'm genuinely interested in the project, but I have zero prior experience and I've been feeling super stressed out and intimidated.

I have no idea what the "culture" of working in a lab is like and I can't figure out how people typically work/communicate - I feel like I'm being too apologetic, asking my mentor too many clarifying questions, and at the same time I've already made a couple really stupid mistakes and feel terrible about it. I don't want to be annoying and make it look like I can't even do simple tasks on my own, but I also don't want to make more careless mistakes (forgetting to put a solution back in the fridge, forgetting something my mentor asked me to do because I was focusing on another task...etc..) but I also don't want to come off as overconfident or arrogant.