1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Anesthesia Course Improvements

Discussion in 'Anesthesiology' started by stlblues, Jul 24, 2006.

1. stlblues

stlblues New Member

Hi all,

I'm a 4th year med student applying to gas this year and am working on revamping the anesthesia elective curriculum at my school (specifically the 4-week rotation for visiting students). I haven't actually done any away gas rotations, and so wanted to know what makes a good anesthesia rotation (in terms of curriculum, teaching, objectives, assignments, etc.). Do most programs have some sort of curriculum? Was it helpful? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Breezee

Breezee Member
    7+ Year Member

One thing I enjoyed about most of my rotations is that I was exposed to various aspects of anesthesiology. I think a good rotation should give the student a fair amount of general anesthesiology exposure but also exposure to obstetrics, regional, pain, ect. Maybe even someone to teach the students how to start peripheral IV's. I've found that most students coming out of medical school never really got much experience with this.

4. SleepIsGood

SleepIsGood Support the ASA !
    5+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Right on with above post.

-Have a airway workshop...with manequins,etc.
    -IV workshop
    -Difficult airway workshop
    -GOOD lectures on pharmacology pertinent to anesthesiology
    -Give the students the opportunity to rotate through the general OR but also OB, Pain, or the ICU where anesthesiologists work.
    -let students out early :D

5. johankriek

johankriek Membership Revoked
    Removed 2+ Year Member

Post Doc
    If I was running an anesthesia rotation

show up on early for the cases

stick around for the pre anesthesia interview, iv placement(done by student) , room set up etc