Doc34

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 16, 2003
Status (Visible)
Someone told me that it is next to impossible to get a Anesthesia resiency without taking the USMLE's as a DO. Is this true?

Thanks

Non-Trad DO

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 12, 2002
Miami, FL
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
:( I've never heard that before. I hope that isn't true. I'm almost certain that there are Osteopathic hospitals that have gas residencies.

9lives

15+ Year Member
Feb 17, 2004
Sheridan,WY.
Status (Visible)
Old Man Dave on Old Premeds web page is in the gas program at Dartmoth,and a DO.Don't know whether or not he took USMLE.

About the Ads

ecf1975do

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 16, 2001
Maine
Status (Visible)
hey there.. i am a 4th yr Do student applying for anesthesiology now.. it is not impossible to get anesthesia interviews without the USMLE... i had 19 interviews.

PM me if u have any questions

peace

DrQuinn

My name is Neo
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 6, 2000
Wisconsin
Status (Visible)
Definately false. Several of my classmates matched into anesthesia without doing the USMLE.

Q, DO

JP2005

HOPKINS GAS PASSER
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
May 21, 2001
NYC/Baltimore
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
usmle is not needed....although you may want to consider it if you are applying to top 10 programs bc it will open up more doors......

i am a 3rd yr and am most likely leaning twds gas....this is what i have been told by various grads of NYCOM that have landed top 10 spots.....

doc3341

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2004
Miami Fl
Status (Visible)
But would a DO wanting to do Anesthesia, or EM, still need to do that whole transitional year thing before starting the residency?/ Also, I heard that you needed your USMLE's as a DO to get an MD residency, is this true tooo??

DireWolf

The Pride of Cucamonga
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 31, 2003
Timbers of Fennario
Status (Visible)