AnKing in first year+ preclerkship grades

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lolaaa

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi I'm a first medical student and I've been trying to start using AnKing but I feel like I'll fail my classes if I do that. I'm a very average student in med school, I sometimes fear not passing a course even when I'm not doing any extracurriculars or anything else besides studying for my exams. Has anyone here used AnKing during the first year? how did you manage your time?

Second, next semester I'm gonna try to be more involved in extracurriculars, but I don't really know what to prioritize since my grades from the first semester are below average. How important is it to have high pre-clerkship grades? I don't think I'll be seeking a very competitive residency but I don't really know how to do better in my classes. I've been relying on anki mostly. Any helpful studying tips?

Members don't see this ad.

High pre-clinical grades help, but are not essential to match into a competitive field. If you are average in years 1 and 2, but then kill it on rotations, that'll help your prospects far more than honoring everything in pre-clinical and being average on your rotations. Although obviously there is a correlation between those that do well 1st and 2nd year and those that go on to do well 3rd year.