Another "chances" question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mommyof2

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
First of all, I am sorry for the length of this post...
I am having a hard time getting a good idea of my chances of gaining acceptance into an MD program because I am a non-traditional student. I would appreciate any thoughts/comments.
I am a 32-year old married mother of two young children. I started college in 1995 and did HORRIBLY. My freshman year GPA was a 1.62. Terrible. I was immature, unfocused, and really not ready to be in college. I was placed on probation but never dropped out or was suspended.
It took me 6 years to complete my undergraduate degree and I ended with a 3.23. I really pulled it together later in my college career, but unfortunately, that first year really killed me, despite several semesters of 3.7-4.0s. I graduated in 2001 with a BA in communication disorders and a minor in Spanish. I went right into graduate school, and earned my MS in speech/language pathology in 2003 with a 3.94. I started taking the prereqs for med school in 2007 and have done very well. I earned As in survery of chem, gen chem I, physics I, physics II, anatomy, and o-chem I. B in gen chem II and I am currently taking o-chem II. Unfortunately, I took bio and math during my disasterous freshman year, so my science GPA is only about a 3.1 or 3.2, despite all of the As I have earned taking post-bacc prepreqs. I have not yet calculated what my overall undergraduate GPA would be (taking my 3.23 undergrad and adding my post-bacc classes). I know that it would be somewhat higher than my 3.23, but probably not much, as I had 175 undergraduate credits.
I am taking the MCAT on September 3rd and applying for entering class of 2010. I realize that I am applying a bit late, but I didn't want to take the MCAT without having finished o-chem. I am also taking the Kaplan course.