Any other non-stereotypical premeds/med students?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thirdunity

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The impression I've gotten of most premed and med students is that they are very "mainstream" in every possible way.

I definitely don't fit this picture. For one, I'm very "geeky" in many respects, and religiously I'm a secular humanist. Most of my non-science hobbies revolve around creative stuff.
Before getting refocused on the sciences, I was a graphic artist and computer geek for years, and am still a graphic artist/creative writer as a hobby. [I don't miss not having time for these things. Not in the way that I craved medical science, as a professional graphic artist; I spent more time reading medical articles than *working*. But definitely, when the math and science books get put away, the art pencils tend to come out.]

I don't have the "image" of a nonmainstream person anymore, at 31 I finally at least visually conform and look like the "clean-cut yuppie" that my local university's med students all seem to look like, but I am still deep down very unconventional.

I was sort of into the goth thing through much of my 20s. I played AD&D and other games, though I've pretty much grown out of this. I was part of the science fiction fandom scene. I've largely fallen away from this, too. I was also almost always working on some sort of writing project. I am a highly energetic person who at times has a lot of nervous energy. I know that my ability to relate to "normal" or "mainstream" people will be important, because it has been important in the past.

I am wondering if this type of personality will work against me. Am I too geeky/odd/nonmainstream? I'm looking to hear from other premeds or med students who are "nonstereotypical".

Members don't see this ad.

thirdunity said: