Any post-baccalaureate pre-optometrists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

green velvet

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I graduated with a BA in English back in 2003 and am currently taking pre-reqs with the intention of applying to optometry school in fall 2010. Is anyone else here on a similar track? I'll have all of my pre-reqs and OAT taken by the time I apply, but I will not have many upper level science courses like science majors would have. I also took a few of the pre-reqs at a community school at night while working.

Interested in any feedback. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I got a BA in secondary education in 2005 and taught for a year before coming back to school. Currently I'm finishing pre reqs and also a BS in chemistry. I realize that I don't need the BS in chemistry because I already have a degree, but I started it so I figured I should see it through.

I don't think there are many English majors that have switched to optometry and I think that is kind of cool. It shows that your intrests are wide and varied. I wouldn't worry too much about not having too many upper division science credits as long as you did well in your pre reqs. From what I've hear, the material in most optometry classes isn't exceedingly difficult to grasp, there is just a ton of it. As long as a person can learn to manage their time well and be self disciplined, they should do fine. Since I am still pre-optometry, you should take what I say with a grain of salt because I haven't experienced it yet.

I wouldn't worry too much about not having too many upper division science credits as long as you did well in your pre reqs.