Other OT-Related Information Anyone been a PT Aide before? Connecting it to OT...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WanderlustOT

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I currently work as a PT aide (bc no OT aide jobs available) and am having a hard time connecting it to OT. I've gained a better appreciation for physical therapy, but by being surrounded by it daily I often forget to connect it to OT especially since I see a lot of overlap. None of the patients have required OT as part of their rehab, yet they're able to go back to doing the things that add meaning to their life once they're finished with PT.

Has anyone here been a PT aide and can offer any feedback about their experience (both during the job AND come application/interview cycle time)? Maybe questions to think about while on the job to relate it to OT? Differences you've noticed from your experience?

I've already volunteered at OT places in the past but I no longer have the availability to continue volunteering bc of this job.

Thank you for any feedback!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I currently work as a PT aide (bc no OT aide jobs available) and am having a hard time connecting it to OT. I've gained a better appreciation for physical therapy, but by being surrounded by it daily I often forget to connect it to OT especially since I see a lot of overlap. None of the patients have required OT as part of their rehab, yet they're able to go back to doing the things that add meaning to their life once they're finished with PT.

Has anyone here been a PT aide and can offer any feedback about their experience (both during the job AND come application/interview cycle time)? Maybe questions to think about while on the job to relate it to OT? Differences you've noticed from your experience?

I've already volunteered at OT places in the past but I no longer have the availability to continue volunteering bc of this job.

Hi